Forensics for Dummies

Forensics for Dummies Review

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell
Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers.
D. P. Lyle, MD (Laguna Hills, CA), is a practicing cardiologist who is also a forensics expert and mystery writer. He runs a Web site that answers writers' questions about forensics, dplylemd.com, and is the author of Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensic Questions for Writers, as well as several mystery novels. John Pless, MD, is Professor Emeritus of Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine and former President of the National Association of Medical Examiners.

Title:Forensics for Dummies
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    Forensics for Dummies Reviews

  • Rachel Bayles

    If you are contemplating a life of crime, there are about 836 scientific reasons in this book not to....

  • Vikki

    Really interseting read, delves deep into forensic science but not overly complicated language as some forensic books I have read. Highly recommended to people thinking of working in the forensic fiel...

  • Kristin

    This was good. At one time I wanted to be a Medical Examiner. Scary I know!...

  • Alan

    The forensics team have different types of specialists in different fields of forensics, there is a finger printing specialist, specialist that does autopsys, and many others. One of the main techniqu...

  • Meg

    This is another great reference book for crime and thriller writers. Or even just a forensics aficionado who wants a greater understanding of the forensics on the crime and procedural shows that are s...

  • Karen Magill

    I have to admit that this is not a book that I am going to read cover to cover - it is too technical for that. But, as a writer of paranormal mysteries, it is a must have reference book. There is so m...

  • Jennifer Daniel

    Great to have on any writer's shelf as a quick easy to use reference. My only complaint is this series as a rule has limited photos. I am such a ghoul that I actually want a visual aid when blunt trau...

  • Emily

    A great overview of the basics of forensic science and many of its subspecialties. Recommended for any novice with curiousity about the secrets of forensic science....

  • D.

    Forensics For Dummies by Douglas P. Lyle (2004)...

  • Ronda

    Interesting information...