To Love and to Loathe

To Love and to Loathe Details

The widowed Diana, Lady Templeton and Jeremy, Marquess of Willingham are infamous among English high society as much for their sharp-tongued bickering as their flirtation. One evening, an argument at a ball turns into a serious wager: Jeremy will marry within the year or Diana will forfeit one hundred pounds. So shortly after, just before a fortnight-long house party at Elderwild, Jeremy’s country estate, Diana is shocked when Jeremy appears at her home with a very different kind of proposition.

After his latest mistress unfavorably criticized his skills in the bedroom, Jeremy is looking for reassurance, so he has gone to the only woman he trusts to be totally truthful. He suggests that they embark on a brief affair while at the house party—Jeremy can receive an honest critique of his bedroom skills and widowed Diana can use the gossip to signal to other gentlemen that she is interested in taking a lover.

Diana thinks taking him up on his counter-proposal can only help her win her wager. With her in the bedroom and Jeremy’s marriage-minded grandmother, the formidable Dowager Marchioness of Willingham, helping to find suitable matches among the eligible ladies at Elderwild, Diana is confident her victory is assured. But while they’re focused on winning wagers, they stand to lose their own hearts.

With Martha Waters’s signature “cheeky charm and wonderfully wry wit” (Booklist, starred review), To Love and to Loathe is another clever and delightful historical rom-com that is perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Evie Dunmore.

Get a Copy :

Amazon
Title:To Love and to Loathe
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781982160876
Format Type:

    To Love and to Loathe Reviews

  • jessica

    this is cute and i think i would have loved it more if i hadnt already read ‘a rogue of ones own,’ because i just couldnt help but compare the similarities. i liked the idea of the plot, the setti...

  • Nilufer Ozmekik

    This is cure to my bleeding soul and dark, sulking mood! It’s not chicken soup but it’s definitely quite lovely, refreshing, brightening vaccine to rejuvenate me! All we need is now to read this k...

  • Samantha

    tw: death of a sibling As someone who hasn't read a lot of historically, I'm not sure if this was meant to be more over-the-top than most of them are but it definitely had that tongue in cheek feel to...

  • Alienor ? French Frowner ?

    Sigh. It seems that I shall never fall in love with Martha Water’s novels and that’s because *throws up my hands* they’re so aggravating. I, for one, do not enjoy shouting “but why would y...

  • Debra

    3.5 starsTo Love and to Loathe is the second book in The Regency Vows series but worked very well as a stand-alone book for me. The widowed Diana Templeton and Jeremy, Marquess of Willingham, members ...

  • Lily Herman

    I don't know about y'all, but between the pandemic and the upcoming U.S. election, I just can't emotionally handle anything other than romance novels that make me feel a bit emo. And lucky for me, Mar...

  • Mara

    Updated rating to 4 stars upon reflection of the issue outlined below re:sapphic charactersWhile I enjoyed the first book, my main issue with it was that the trope combo felt a little too YA for an ad...

  • Bethany

    To Love and to Loathe has a great setup and I thought I would really enjoy it, but it does some things I find irritating and it very poorly handles the existence of a queer side character, including t...

  • Caz

    I've given this a B+ at AAR, so 4.5 starsTo Love and To Loathe is the follow-up to Martha Waters’ 2020 début historical romance, To Have and to Hoax AAR's reviewer was less than impressed with it, ...

  • Nenia ? I yeet my books back and forth ? Campbell

    Ummmm so YES, I think I want this...