How to Avoid Extinction

How to Avoid Extinction Review

For fans of Gary Schmidt and Joan Bauer, a laugh-out-loud intergenerational road trip story from acclaimed author Paul Acampora!

Since the death of his grandfather, Leo's number one chore has been to chase after his grandmother who seems to wander away from home every few days. Now, Gram's decided to roam farther than ever. And despite his misgivings, Leo's going along for the ride. With his seventeen-year-old cousin, Abbey, and an old, gassy dog named Kermit, Leo joins Gram in a big, old Buick to leave their Pennsylvania home for a cross-country road trip filled with foldout maps, family secrets, new friends, and dinosaur bones.

How to Avoid Extinction is a middle-grade comedy about death and food and family and fossils. It's about running away from home and coming back again. For Leo, it's about asking hard questions and hopefully finding some sensible answers. As if good sense has anything to do with it. Against a backdrop of America's stunning size and beauty, it's also about growing up, getting old, dreaming about immortality, and figuring out all the things we can -- and can't -- leave behind.

Title:How to Avoid Extinction
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    How to Avoid Extinction Reviews

  • Donalyn

    This would make a fantastic read aloud for middle school! Funny and poignant. ...

  • Cheryl

    Maybe it will be a better inter-generational road trip than Cooney's Hit the Road.It looks like the author has other books, too, that I should investigate....----Done. Fun, and lighter, not so full of...

  • Ms. Yingling

    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineSince his grandfather passed away, Leo's job is to keep track of his grandmother. She's fiesty, loves doughnuts, and has decided that for the anniversary of her ...

  • Liz Friend

    The story: Leo's job is keeping an eye on his grandmother, who tends to wander off. So when she jumps in her old Buick and heads off to see the dinosaurs in Utah, Leo HAS to go with her. Right!?!? Her...

  • Laura

    Leo lives with his mom and his grandma in a small town. A lot of the location centers around Mr. Kruller, the local donut maker. His grandmother often leaves the house and Leo must go find her. Leo, h...

  • Ms. Arca

    Full disclaimer- I love road trip stories. This one is a sweet Walk Two Moons -esque road trip story by the same author as I Kill the Mockingbird. It’s about a boy and his family as they get to know...

  • Jaina Rose

    This review is also available on my blog, Read Till Dawn.Honestly, my gut reaction when closing the book was "man, this needed to be longer!"At barely 200 pages, there didn't seem to be much room for ...

  • Brenda Kahn

    Laugh-out-loud funny, poignant and wise. I loved the voice. There were a few holes and one or two convenient plot devices that kept me from giving it five stars. My students are not going to notice an...

  • Melanie Dulaney

    When I finished this book, I announced to my husband that it was a 5. He questioned why and I told him that I cried once and laughed out loud three times. “So that’s the scorecard?” he asked. My...

  • Jeff Raymond

    I appreciate middle grade books that take some chances. This book, however, maybe took a few too many wrong turns along the way.The story is mostly a road trip tale, where Leo, a caretaker for his aff...